Department of Health & Family welfare, Government of Kerala on considering the importance of tremendous advances in the field of Medical education and Technology has decided to promote Medical Education in the state by setting up an autonomous society named State Institute of Medical Education and Technology (SI-MET). The society was registered under the Travancore-Cochin Literary, Scientific and Charitable Societies Registration Act, 1955(Act XII of 1955) as Reg.No. T 899/08 on 29/05/2008. The registered office started functioning at the Directorate of Medical Education.  Now the SI-MET Directorate is at Pallimukku, Pettah P.O,  Thiruvananthapuram - 695024. .
Dr.Thomas Mathew, Professor & Head, Dept .of in Community Medicine, Medical College, Alappuzha was appointed by the Government as the Director, SI-MET (Additional charge) with effect from 15/01/2009. Later Prof. Salomey George, former Deputy Director of Nursing Education  was appointed by the Government as the Director, SI-MET with effect from 01/03/2011.
On 10 th February 2008, the first Institute under SI-MET, the Institute of Paramedical Sciences at Pilathara, Cheruthazham Panchayath,Kannur was inaugurated in a rented building by Smt.P.K.Sreemathy Teacher ,Ex. Minister for Health, Government of Kerala . The classes for Diploma in Medical Laboratory Technology Course (DMLT) with 30 seats started on 11 th February 2008.  Simultaneously, the Diploma in Health Inspector course (DHI course) was started at the Paramedical Institute, Pazhampalakode, Kuzhalmannam, Palakkad District.  The two institutions were handed over to Director of Health Services w.e.f. 1/04/2011 as per Government decision.
The Governing body decided to start three Nursing colleges, at Palluruthy (Ernakulam District), Malampuzha (Palakkad District) and Uduma (Kasargod District).The infrastructural and instructional facilities for these colleges have been established. The approvals from the Concerned Universities and from the Indian Nursing Council have obtained to start the course during 2009-10.
The admission formalities for these colleges have been completed from the rank list prepared by LBS centre,Thiruvananthapuram.The SI-MET College of Nursing, Malampuzha was inaugurated on 29 th September 2009 by Sri.V.S.Achudananthan, Ex.Chief Minister, Government of Kerala and the function was presided by Smt.P.K.Sreemathy Teacher,Ex.Minister for Health&Social Welfare ,Government of Kerala.
The SI-MET College at Palluruthy and Uduma will be inaugurated by Smt.P.K.Sreemathy Teacher,Ex.Minister for Health &Social Welfare,Government of Kerala on 20th and 22nd November 2009 respectively. Government has also decided to start more Educational and Research institutions in Medical and Paramedical field under the Modern medicine as well as in other systems like Ayurveda, Homeo and Sidha .The proposals for the same are being prepared by the concerned department heads.  Two Post Basic BSc Nursing Colleges were started during the academic year 2010-11 at Thrippunithura, Ernakulam District and Mundur, Palakkad District with an annual intake of 30 students each.   During the Academic year 2011-12, One Post Basic B.Sc Nursing College was started at Mangattuparamba, Kannur District with an annual intake of 40 students. A BSc Nursing Course at Muttathara, Thiruvananthapuram District (now functioning at Thekkumoodu, Vanchiyoor P.O (Near Anadiyil Hospital) with an annual intake of 60 students started during the academic year 2015-16.  As per Government order G.O (MS) No. 106/2017/H&FWD dated 07/07/2017, the Post Basic BSc Nursing Colleges at Thrippunithura and Mundur were merged to B.Sc Nursing Colleges at Palluruthy, Ernakulam Dist and Malampuzha, Palakkad District respectively and as per G.O (Rt) No. 1017/2019/H&FWD dated 30/04/2019 SI-MET College of Nursing Mangattuparamba was merged with SI-MET College of Nursing Uduma. 
State Institute of Medical Education and Technology(SIMET)
SI-MET Directorate,
TC 94/2750
Pattoor, Vanchiyoor.P.O
Near General Hospital
© 2016 All Rights Reserved. Designed By CDIT